Blogging: Dear Relationary

https://i2.wp.com/www.digiactive.org/wp-content/uploads/chinese-blog-post2.jpg

I received this email

Dear Relationary,

I am a mathematics teacher by day and a client manager for a construction supplier by night.  I am a single mother with a son.  I am thinking about starting a blog, but I wonder how to go about it.

I like the image of your blog “relationary”. It’s very special and give people some space to think. I browse some blogs online sometimes. I prefer to read essays. There are numerous blogs in China. Most of them are colorful. I thought about to open my own but I know it will take a lot of time. I think I am a little perfectionist, I hope to make my blog outstanding if I open one, so I prefer not to open it.:)

Jane

Tianjin, Tianjin, China

published with permission

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about “blogging – Google Video“, posted with vodpod

Hello Jane,

Thank you for writing to me.

Writing blogs does take a lot of time. Actually, I find I treat my blog like a journal of what I am doing each day. I work on my framework all day as my work and then at the end of the day I report what I have discovered. You could talk about managing clients. You could talk about teaching children mathematics. You could talk about being a single mother. You could talk about Christian life. You could talk about men. You can write about the blogs you read. You could write about videos and animation, photos and graphics, audios and music, fumes and fragrances, gustios and cooking, physios and dancing, mentios and ideas. There are lots of subjects.

The thing to remember is nothing is ever finished. This means that nothing you put in a blog is complete, it is just your present thoughts. Then you can accept that it will not be perfect.

Another nice thing about blogging is if you wrote something you can go back and add to it as many times as you like so it gets better and your readers are more satisfied each time.

The best thing to do to start a blog is to set one up and gradually get into the routine of writing things into it. You will find over time your entries will get longer and more ideas will come. If you simply use tagging and catagorization in your blog, you will also find your audience will slowly and satisfactorily grow over time. My favorite blogging tool is WordPress.com. It is free and it is well designed and easy to use.

I like facebook, and there is a blogging app but I have only played with it.  While it offers a clean facebookish style, the lack of customizability actually works against its use.  Most people with something lengthy to say just writes a note.  I am sticking with my wordpress blog because it gives me the control over presentation I want.

I hope you make the decision to start a blog.

Cheers,

Grant.

Leave a Reply

