Icons: Systema Iconic Language: Part I

In this series of posts I will be exploring the concept of an iconic language built upon the vocabulary I have been incrementally creating as part of the Systema Framework.

Abstract Relationships

enterpriserelateabstract

Concrete Relationships

enterpriserelateconcrete1

I have worked with icons before and this is a revisit of some of those ideas as well as modifications.

Apport Icon Set

The Apport icon set defines the entities that can exist in a system:

iconscreate2

Accord Icon Set

The Accord Icon set defines the relationships that can exist in a system:

iconsrelate2

Below is a cross product of the Apport and Accord Icon sets:

enterpriserelateicons2

Record Icon Set

I am sure that the icon set below is familiar if you have followed my blog.

iconsrecord1

Note that the cross product below is only for the entities themselves and not for their relationships.

enterpriserecordicons

Properly utilized, an iconic language would allow you to build sentences out of the individual icons interactively.

I plan to continue to think about this subject further and will update as I go along.

Below are links to web pages and pdf documents I have read so far on the topic:

Leave a Reply

