The Vaio is Dead! Long Live the iMac!

It’s a big day here in relationary land.  My trusty Sony Vaio had a physical hard disk failure.  Repair would cost one quarter of the purchase price and weeks between Sony and back.  Fortunately, I do most of my work on Google Docs at home and I backup my iTunes library.  So I went to the local high profile electronics dealer and asked the sales rep what I could get for the original purchase price of a four year old Sony Viao.  The answer was a top of the line iMac and in a matter of 20 minutes for financing I walked out with a big box in hand.

When I reached my apartment and pulled the iMac Box out of the brown cardboard shipping box I looked at the thing and decided to clean my entire apartment in preparation.  This was like bringing my dream date home.  I unpacked the computer and set it up on my desk.  I realized that I would have to get a new chair so I would not hurt my neck looking up into the screen which was bigger than my television display.  Then I turned it on.

Everything about the machine, the OS and the software is superior.  This is American design, Californian design at its finest.  I showed it to my friend and he told me to take time to get a little sleep every night.

I celebrated by downloading a complete Mozart collection from iTunes.  The sound is great.  I’ll be giving away my Vaio, my DVD player and my television set.  I think I will give up my land line and buy an iPhone, too.

iMac, where have you been all my life?

One Response to “The Vaio is Dead! Long Live the iMac!”

  1. João Aca Says:

    Congrats Grant! It’s really such a big experience to switch to Mac, I switched less than a year ago to a Macbook and couldn’t be happier!

    I just suggest you to check Quicksilver it’s a kind of a launcher app that can just change your life (it’s much more than that, it’s launcher, search, organizer, everything you can dream, just watch some tutorial videos to get it going, it couldn’t be easier!).

    I also hope to see a plugin made with your mad skills! Also check this link about cool apps from a cool user:
    http://griddlenoise.blogspot.com/2006/06/my-mac-os-x-priceless-applications-and.html

    Wish you the best! Thanks for sharing your amazing toughts!


Leave a Reply

