It Ain’t Frank, To Be Frank

I started reading Frank Herbert’s novels when I was in first year university.  I had all of them in hard copy and I found the Dune Chronicles to be spellbinding.  The other day I was looking for some light reading and here to my surprise were a series of new Dune Chronicles by Brian Herbert (center) and Kevin J. Anderson.  I decided I would test the waters with Hunters of Dune.

Brian and Kevin are both accomplished authors and I found Hunters of Dune a good piece of science fiction.  Apparently, Frank Herbert had left his notes for the conclusion of the Dune Chronicles in two safety deposit boxes that were discovered a decade later and Hunters of Dune and Sandworms of Dune are the product.

I have to admit, my Dune memory is fuzzy.  But I could sense that the writing was, as Brian and Kevin admit, not Frank Herbert.  The passages where prescience is described does not have the vivid prose that Frank used.  And there appears to be a logical flaw in the Hunters novel:  the depiction of the conundrum of the Honored Matres origin, how it is obscured and how it is found doesn’t fit logically with the character who discovers it.  But I will leave that to other readers to consider and debate.  I am willing to suspend my skepticism for the fun of the story.

Dune is a great tale.  Brian and Kevin filled out its beginnings and end courageously.  And as a gift to my son I plan to buy the entire series in hard cover for posterity.

Leave a Reply

