Induce the Past, Deduce the Future

The title of this post is a variation on a motto of Edward de Bono: “Analyze the Past, Design the Future.” In my work so far on Structured Thinking Language (STL), I have been focusing on the design side of the Equation. This has given us the graphic I have been using regularly:

stl02.jpg

However, while working on hexad reasoning, I produced the following table based on James Moffett’s Universe of Discourse:

moffetthexad02.jpg

If we follow this table from top left row by row to bottom right we are performing analysis of a system. We are reversing the Six Hats, Six Coats design pattern. In this way we can Induce the Past and Deduce the Future using the Structured Thinking Language.

Analytical Verbs:

  1. ATTEND: Accept Scheduling
  2. EMBODY: Follow Affordances
  3. RECORD: Expand Physics
  4. REPORT: Amplify Logic
  5. INDUCE: Generalize
  6. REVISE: Adapt Meaning

Design Verbs:

  1. DEVISE: Adopt Meaning
  2. DEDUCE: Specialize
  3. REFINE: Condense Logic
  4. REDUCE: Contract Physics
  5. INTUIT: Direct Affordances
  6. ENGAGE: Manage Scheduling

I will keep tinkering with the verbs until I am fully satisfied with them.

2 Responses to “Induce the Past, Deduce the Future”

  1. Tasha Christel Says:

    As I look at the major courses for both it seems that I can take screen writing and film courses as my general major elective as a English major. When I choose a minor which can be creative writing or film studies, I’m having a hard time because I want to pursue a career as a screenwriter for film as a secondary job for myself, but wouldn’t Creative Writing help me with that?.

    • grant czerepak Says:

      There is nothing wrong with Creative Writing, but also explore disciplines outside of you department that offer discipline in creative thought. Creativity is not chaotic thinking alone. Creativity is chaos with a harness on it. In that way you can derive some benefit from it.


Leave a Reply

