Deduction versus Induction

I’ve been thinking about my posts on art and systems and I realized that what I was describing was inductive reasoning. Philosophical inductive reasoning can be simply put, “If it is true for all observed cases, it is true for all cases.” If I observe that there are white swans and black swans, I conclude that there are only white and black swans and am prepared for further exceptions.

Here’s the plot of inductive reasoning:

commcycleinductive.jpg

As you can see existential experience leads to conceptual design.

In philosophical deductive reasoning the opposite holds true: “If it is true for all cases, it is true for all observed cases.” If I assert that there are only white swans and observe white and black swans, I conclude there are only white swans.

Here is the plot of deductive reasoning:

commcycledeductive.jpg

Suddenly, we have conceptual design dictating existential experience.

As you can see it is a question of whether we are driven by reality or driven by concept. Good design is inductive. Wars are fought over deduction.

Leave a Reply

