Design versus Art

In his blog Up Against It Thomas Roth-Berghofer discusses his reading of The Laws of Simplicity by Medea. He quotes Medea:

“The best art makes your head spin with question. Perhaps this is the fundamental distinction between pure art and pure design. While great art makes you wonder, great design makes things clear.”

I believe the path to the appreciation of Art and the path to the appreciation of Design is very simple.

Art’s path is Physical -> Logical -> Contextual -> Conceptual

Design’s (Good Design’s) path is Conceptual -> Contextual -> Logical -> Physical

I believe that communication is a continual cycle ascending and descending these complimentary paths between people.

communicationcycle3.jpg

4 Responses to “Design versus Art”

  1. Zachman versus Maslow « relationary Says:

    […] 4th, 2007 In my previous post I discussed art and design in the context of communication.  Now I want to reveal a correlation […]

  2. Systems versus Humans « relationary Says:

    […] 5th, 2007 In my previous post I discussed art and design in the context of communication. Now I want to reveal a correlation that […]

  3. Hulk No Like Juxtaposition! « ‘Bout What I Sees Says:

    […] Art and its quality and successful communique determine good or bad art. Here’s a nifty graph to help […]

  4. Deduction versus Induction « relationary Says:

    […] 5th, 2007 I’ve been thinking about my posts on art and systems and I realized that what I was describing was inductive reasoning.  Philosophical […]


Leave a Reply

